Pressing Matters

Let me just start out by saying that I am not an avid fan of ironing my clothes. While there is a certain satisfaction one gets watching the wrinkles disappear… It’s just not enough to motivate me. Knowing that my boss would appreciate a crisply pressed uniform doesn’t do it either.

That being said, my ironing board and iron are set up and ready to use at a moments notice. Sewing and quilting do require pressing. Therefore I use my iron quite frequently; hence the ready position.

One of the great mysteries of irons is the mucky gunk the decides to spew forth at the most inopportune times. Usually when you’re late to work and pressing yesterdays uniform to make it look fresh and to “sanitize” it since you failed to do laundry and this was the best choice of the lot.

After the iron performed this magic the other day, thankfully not on my navy blue pants, the ironing board cover was destroyed. Having plenty of fabric on hand, I whipped up a new one.
Before:

image

After:

image

I am not entirely sure, but I think the closet is looking more full instead of more empty. Perhaps a new law of physics: fabric expands to fit the space provided.

image

2 thoughts on “Pressing Matters

Leave a Reply

