Skirting the Issue

Friday I leave for Big D (little a, double l, a, s) to spend some much needed time with my lovely daughter. When we get together we love to play tourist. We will be exploring the cultural highlights of Dallas: the presidential library, the JFK Museum, The Katy Trail, and of course Billy Bob’s. If you Google top Dallas Attractions you will find a list of possibilities for us. Oh, don’t forget Six Flags!

Naturally, when I head out on vacation I wanted some fresh things to wear. You never know when you’ll meet a handsome cowboy. So to that end I’ve whipped up a couple skirts to wear.

Image

 

The yoke detail is a collar that was crocheted by my great grandmother. It’s been in a box on the sewing shelve for years (probably 50) so I thought I would put it to use. I’ve tacked it on by hand so it can easily be removed. I thought it was interesting for texture and detail. Yes the hem is a raw serged edge. Because it adds interest. You know you would buy it this way even if you would complain about the unfinished quality.

Image

This skirt is just begging to be worn with my cowboy boots. You know it. I’ll post some pictures from our trip so you can see how these worked out.

 

The inspiration for these skirts came from Pinterest. These links will help you make your own skirt pattern. I use a ready made pattern and modify the lines using these measuring tips. No Hem Skirt, How to Draft and Sew a Skirt

This project made a nice dent in the sewing closet and saved money on a travel wardrobe.

Image

2 thoughts on “Skirting the Issue

  1. Beautifully made projects. The yoke really highlighted the skirt, and the other skirt the fabrics are well blended. Wishing you a safe and enjoyable trip with your daughter. The shelves look nce as you are using your materials. Be A Blessing because you’re Blessed. Mtetar

Leave a Reply

