Confessions of a Fabric Addict

The good news is a new craft/hobby/fabric shop has opened in my neighborhood. It is a beautiful, clean, well organized and well stocked establishment full of friendly clerks. The bad news is a new craft/hobby/fabric shop has opened in my neighborhood.  This is somewhat akin to bringing home bags of chocolate treats and telling yourself you’ll have just one. With such a lovely shop in close proximity, it is hard to resist popping over for one or two things, then wandering through the rest of the store to admire the displays and “gather inspiration”.

So, there I was, on a short mission to find some polymer clay my sister and I have decided would be fun to dabble with… when I decided to stroll through the aisles, strictly for research and inspiration.  Well, you  can’t just avoid the entire fabric section, right? So, I included a saunter through the bolts and inspiration hit.

On my recent trip to Texas my daughter was lamenting the loss of a favorite tote. 20130713_142412Eventually they all wear out if you drag them around like we do, never changing purses. She was describing the perfect replacement, in case I should be so inclined to make one for her, while we admiring the works at the Dallas Museum of Art (Which has free general admission.) We saw these adorable pillows and decided that they would be an ideal style for a new bag.

So, there I was, minding my own business, petting every bolt of fabric as I slowly meandered through the aisles when what should I find?

1374367472234

Of course I had to have some to make a bag for my Daughter. Which I did, and it turned out beautifully. As soon as it arrives at her house, I’ll have her snap a picture to share. In my haste to fulfill my daughters every wish, oh that’s not true. Really, she asks for so little; a visit from me is really what she wanted (me too). The bag was my idea, because really, if your kids like anything you make, you want to make them anything. But I was happy to send it off and did forget to take a picture in my excitement.IMG_9241my lovely daughter with her tote.

Oh, and I also found this: 1374434787178

It’s so cute! and filled with nice little airplanes. I’ve already confessed my love of all things airplane, and most especially all things fabric and printed with airplanes.

Incidentally, I did go home with the clay as well.

Well, now I have plenty of projects to work on. Perhaps I shall get started on….

One thought on “Confessions of a Fabric Addict

  1. I absolutely love the fabric you chose for your daughter’s tote; an amazing find! Like you, I covet the kind of French rustic, vintage text style in the museum photo – I’ve never yet found a fabric which comes close! Do please share the photo of the final tote you made when you can 🙂

Leave a Reply

