Thankfully Near the End

Here we are in the final stretch, as they say, nearly finished with November and National Novel Writing Month. I have achieved the heretofore mythical word count, and can boast 52,502. Now I’m in the process of procrastinating about the final edit. The sad news is, most publishers actually want more than a measly 50,000 words. Sigh. Of course I have lofty aspirations of actually getting my little book in print. Well, actually, I want someone to pay me and put it in print. I do want it all.

On the procrastination front, because I’ve done so well here, I can recommend baking. Cake, cupcakes, and a lovely batch of cookies just last night. You can justify this activity easily; one must eat! What better than a morsel of chocolately deliciousness full of brain stimulating energy. The side benefit of cookies and cake: running. You must! You just ate half a dozen oatmeal-chocolate chip-coconut-pecan-cranberry cookies. Running is good for you. It’s not healthy to sit in front of your computer for such a long time. See. I’m an expert. If you need any tips or procrastination ideas, or even a good rationalization, I’m here for you.

This little gem has also assisted me in the procrastination arena. I found her sitting in a thrift store begging to go home with me. What could I do? Besides negotiate for a lower price and ask sweetly for the young man to find a way to fit it into my car? singerShe’s a rugged little beauty that will sew through some things that I can’t subject the electronic machines to.

I also attended a baby shower this weekend, and naturally had to take a little something along. Because I can’t wait to give something away once it’s made, she already had a quilt and diaper bag weeks ago. I didn’t want to arrive empty handed so I whipped up some bibs. I breezed through the images on the internet, gathered up a little inspiration, a general idea of bib shape (haven’t used one is quite a while) and some scraps and went to town. I was rather pleased with the results.

bibs

Bringing home a new sewing machine, complete with cabinet, required rearranging the furniture in my little crafting/computer room. Sadly, some of it ended up back in the closet and while it’s still organized, it has lost it’s spacious open feel. The advantage is that everything is now in one location.

closet11_26_13

 

One thought on “Thankfully Near the End

Leave a Reply

