Small Things

Can you believe how fast January went by? This time of year is busy for me at work, as the weather is so perfect. I realize that sounds just a little snarky, We have had a few days in the 80’s, now we’re back to a seasonal chill of mid 60’s. You really can’t beat Phoenix for winter.

Of course, I have managed a few very small projects. It started with Las Vegas. I met up with some dear friends and my daughter to celebrate a birthday. Naturally I was packing every item of clothing I own that is covered in things that sparkle. It just wasn’t enough. So I pulled a not-so-favorite shirt from the closet and got to work. The best thing about a shirt like this is that you’re not too emotionally invested. If the project goes South you won’t lose any sleep over it.

Image

I stitched on the paillettes  and glued on the sequins. Done in about an hour. I received impromptu complements from strangers (gotta love that!)  Now it’s one of my favorites.

This started it. While my daughter and I were shopping it seemed grey with sparkle was everywhere. Who knew? I’m never on trend. A wacky coincidence. When I got home I got to work on project number two. This sweatshirt was less than $6.00, Do you still have your ‘Bedazzler’? Get it out.Image

Image

Then there was the end of year sale, and coupons and other such temptations. I did start with what I had, but it was lacking… Isn’t that what we all say as we justify our fabric store purchases? It started with the birthday in Vegas (not mine). My friend celebrated 60, momentous. She had just come back from a trip to Ireland and so I thought a St. Patrick’s Day quilt would be so lovely. Here’s what I’ve got so far. The plan is for a ‘Double Irish Chain’. Image

Oh, and I couldn’t resist a little of this…Image

And, last but not least, I have completed the edits on my manuscript and submitted it to a writing contest. I cannot tell you the stage fright this has created. Crazy. We’ll see what happens. I’ve signed up for a couple writing conferences where agents and publishers and writers all assemble in one place. I never realized how scary putting one’s work out for public consumption could be. Keep your fingers crossed.

One thought on “Small Things

Leave a Reply

